WhatsApp, the messaging app, may soon introduce a slew of new features, including a new security feature that allows users to secure their accounts from potential fraudsters and another that will enable users to know who has previously been in a WhatsApp group.
WhatsApp Login Approval
The account owner receives a notice in the app when someone attempts to connect to a WhatsApp account using the login approval feature. The warning will provide details such as when the request was made and the model from which it originated.
According to a WABetaInfo report, the user may choose whether to accept or deny the request depending on where it originated. The feature is still under development and will expand on WhatsApp’s two-step verification. It will first be available on WhatsApp beta version 22.214.171.124.
All WhatsApp users will be allowed to use the app when the beta users have tested it and given their approval. If the feature is executed, it may reduce the likelihood of a user’s account and information being stolen. According to the report, WhatsApp is also testing a feature in beta version 126.96.36.199 that, if launched, would allow group administrators and members to see who has left or been thrown out of a group in the previous 60 days.
There will be a new link named “See Past Participants” beneath the list of persons in the group on the “Group Information” page.
A list of banned users will also be available. According to the report, the messaging app will no longer use the current approach for informing the conversation when a person quits or is removed. Only administrators will get in-chat alerts of this kind. WhatsApp just implemented a feature that allows users to erase more than two days old messages. All WhatsApp users may now use the feature previously made for beta users for testing and approval.